Personal

The Blessed Month Of Ramadhan

Hey, guys!

It’s finally the month of Ramadhan. (Or when this post goes up, it’s near the end of Ramadhan. I suck at blogging)

bloom, blooming, blossoms

Ramadhan is the 9th month of the Islamic calendar. Yes, we have our own calendar which actually corresponds with the moon. During this month, we fast from sunrise to sunset for about 29 to 30 days. The month ends with a day celebration, Eid ul-Fitr, The celebration of breaking fast.

There are many reasons as to why we undergo fasting. It helps us to feel the struggle that people, less fortunate than us, undergo on a daily basis. We start to appreciate the mercies and blessings we have been granted in our lives. The ability to fill our stomach at the start and end of every day.

This is also the month in which we try to get closer to God. We repent for all the sins we have committed through the year, adopt habits such as praying five times a day, reading the Qu’ran etc, and establish relationships with our neighbours by gifting them food and sometimes even inviting them to open their fasts. We basically come together as a community.

Fasting also has benefits to the body. It detoxes the body, speeds up the metabolism and apparently even clears up the skin. However, fasting can also be damaging especially if a person suffers from an eating disorder. And despite the obligation of fasting during Ramadhan, God allows exceptions to the rule. A pregnant or breastfeeding woman, a person suffering from an illness (psychological or physical), children etc.

To me, the month of Ramadhan is being able to spend time with family and friends. It’s about disciplining myself to not give in to temptations. Getting closer to God and establishing new good habits while getting rid of the ones that are harmful. It’s about appreciating the little things in life and being generous to the less unfortunate. It’s more than not eating and drinking, it’s the month that makes me smile. The month where my father would tell me stories about the prophet after we opened our fast, a tradition that my brother has now adopted. Talking about the food my friends and I would eat after school when we opened our fast. It’s about the memories I reminisce and the memories I will create. It is a blessing!

Taiba 🙂

Disclaimer: If I have made any mistakes in any of things discussed regarding Ramadhan, please do not hesitate to comment down below. The post is an attempt to for my readers to get a better an idea of why we, Muslims, fast and what fasting means to me, personally. 

9 thoughts on “The Blessed Month Of Ramadhan

  1. I love this, I’ve always been curious about Ramadhan (also, never knew it was spelt with a ‘H’) but Google just doesn’t have any articles about it that actually hold my interest hahah!
    How do you cope with the fasting (especially drinking) throughout the day when it’s this hot?
    Saph xx
    simplysaph.blogspot.co.uk

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I spell it with a H but some people don’t. It’s a huge struggle to fast during summer and sometimes, around mid day, it gets really hard. Personally, I kind of relax during the end of the day because that’s when it hits the most. However, you kind of start to get used to the feeling and learn how to cope with it. I have to keep reminding myself about the benefits and why I’m actually fasting.

      Like

  2. I love, love, love this! This is probably the best post I’ve read today. Ramadan is such a beautiful month and I feel SO attached that I don’t ever want it to end. I honestly feel like a changed, better and happier person. I am incredibly thankful for so, SO many things in my life and I feel as if I’m always learning something new in this blessed month. This is a well written post lovely. Happy Ramadan kareem sis! Xx

    SAMI | possiblysami.com

    Like

    1. Khair mubarak. I feel the same. There is just something great lingering in the atmosphere during this month. It makes me feel so happy and content. I’m so happy you liked it, I was actually really sceptical when I posted it just in case I made a mistake or something. Xx

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Loved this!! I’ve always felt in awe of those who take part in Ramadan, it must be so hard, especially when the weather is so hot! x

    Like

  4. A good round up of what this blessed month is all about, very informative for those who don’t know what it entails, Ramadan Mubarak! And hope your ramadan has been going well i’A 💕

    Like

Leave a Reply

